No announcement yet.

Kaduna State Government Makes Primary Education Free And Compulsory

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Kaduna State Government Makes Primary Education Free And Compulsory

    Kaduna State government has concluded plans to commence the enforcement of free compulsory primary education across the 23 local government areas next month, The Nation understands.

    The Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Prof. Andrew Nok who briefed journalists on the activities of the ministry, said the bill to enforce compulsory primary education in the state has been passed into law and would be become effective in September.

    He said that the state government came up with the law in order to ensure that no one is deprive of basic education in the State, “the law provides penalty to parent who refuse to send their children or ward to school.”

    “Anybody who is caught giving or receiving alms to beggars, and parent who sends their children to school would be dealt with by the law,” he said.

    He also said that the state government will integrated Almajiri children into the modern school system.

    According to the commissioner, a total of N2.2 billion has been spent on the payment of 1,200 newly recruited teachers in the state and observed that the delay in payment was to ensure that all the newly recruited staff passed through proper documentation to check the “ghost worker syndrome.”

    Nok also promised that 15 secondary schools would be transformed to boarding schools and equipped with standard facilities across the 23 local government areas.

    He said hostels, library, clinic, kitchen facilities, perimeter fence and potable water would be provided to give the schools a conducive environment for teaching and learning.

    15 schools to be transformed to boarding institutions included Queen Amina College, Kaduna, Government Girls secondary School, Kawo; Government Technical College, Malali and Barewa Collage, Zaria.

    Others included Government College, Kagoro; Girls Science Secondary School, Giwa; Rimi College, Zaria; Girls Science School, Kwoi; Government Girls Secondary School , Soba, Government college, Saminaka and Government College, Kagoro.